Mt. Vernon Board of School Trustees to Ratify New Collective Bargaining Agreement

Mt. Vernon Board of School Trustees

Mt. Vernon Administrative Service Center Monday, November 2, 2020 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Present: Mr. Greg Rollo, Director of Technology; Mrs. Gwen Scrogham, Board Secretary; Mrs. Kellie Freeman, Board President; Mr. Tony May, Board Member; Mr. Mike McCarty, Board Member; Dr. Jack Parker, Superintendent; Mr. Chris Smedley, Assistant Superintendent; Mr. Scott Shipley, Director of Curriculum; Mrs. Beth Smith, Board Member; Mr. Greg Elkins, Chief Financial Officer

Absent: Mrs. Maria Bond, Communications Director; Mrs. Laura Durig, SpEd Director; Mr. Derek Shelton, Director of Operations; Mrs. Shannon Walls, Board Member; Lisa Heitman, Finance Dept

1 Pledge of Allegiance (6:00 P.M.)

Mrs. Kellie Freeman, Board President

Minutes:

Mrs. Freeman led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance,.

2 Call to Order

Mrs. Kellie Freeman, Board President

Minutes:

Mrs. Freeman called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

3 Adoption of Agenda

Mrs. Kellie Freeman, Board President

Minutes:

Mr. May made a motion to adopt the agenda as presented. Mr. McCarty seconded, and the motion carried 4-0.

4 Public Comment Regarding Ratification of Tentative Teacher Collective Bargaining Agreement

Public comment will be taken at this meeting pursuant to Indiana Code 20-29-6-19(c) regarding the ratification of the tentative teacher collective bargaining agreement, which is posted at www.mvcsc.k12.in.us

Minutes:

There were none.

5 Ratification of New Collective Bargaining Agreement

Mr. Chris Smedley, Assistant Superintendent

Minutes:

Mr. Smedley stated he wanted to publicly thank the district's bargaining team along with Desiray Scalf and her team for all their hard work. The CTA ratified the collective bargaining agreement last week with a 96% pass rate.

Mrs. Smith made a motion to ratify the Collective Bargaining Agreement. Mr. May seconded, and the motion carried 4-0.

Attachments:

2020-2021 Collective Bargaining Agreement.DOCX

6 Adjournment

Mrs. Kellie Freeman, Board President

Minutes:

Mr. McCarty made a motion to adjourn at 6:03 p.m. Mr. May seconded, and the motion carried 4-0.

7 Executive Session (6:30 p.m.)

Mrs. Kellie Freeman, Board President

Attachments:

Executive Session Agenda.doc